Is Threesday Real?

I sat across the kitchen table, watching my daughter eat her jelly sandwich. Small, shiny globs of strawberry sweetness gluing themselves to her cheeks. Her eyes lit up because she knew the answer to my question:

“Who can name the days of the week?”

My son wanted to answer, but it was his sister’s turn. He sat and crumbled some crackers into his plate.

Eyes gleaming, her little voice shouted out, “Monday, Tuesday, Threesday, Foursday–”

Threesday?” he shouted.

Threesday

Her voice grew a little smaller.

“Fivesday, Sixday–”

“No, no, no!” he said, a fresh cracker poised over the growing pile. “Let me do it, Mommy. It goes MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday.”

The words fell out over our kitchen table like a sudden monsoon. My daughter lowered her sandwich. Looked at her brother with the face of a scholar.

“You forgot Sunday.”

And I smiled. They’d worked it out, eventually. But all day we kept talking about Threesday. It makes sense, phonetically. And if you’ve ever tried to teach a kid the difference between two, to and too you’ve been down our road. Which, we decided, would be quite nice indeed if there, in fact, was a Threesday.

And so came the book.

We’ve enjoyed it, our family and friends have enjoyed it — and it is my greatest hope that you will too! I decided to publish it, officially. A book I wrote for my daughter to stand out there with the book I wrote and published for my son, Sometimes the Moon.

Threesday is now available on Amazon (happy dance!), and here is a video trailer I made to share with wonderful you, my BBFs (best blogging friends):

.

Is Threesday real? See what you think as you read the sweet imaginings of a young girl discovering a new day. If you’d like to buy a copy, and further if you’d like to leave a review (thank you!) you can do so through clicking this link.

28 thoughts on “Is Threesday Real?

    1. Thank you, Jack! And thanks for believing in me as a writer. I didn’t know those references you made so I looked them up and yes! I agree. I love the things kids say and how they interpret their world.

      Like

    1. Jessica, thank you so much! You are such an amazing mother and writer that I really appreciate the compliment. May you and your beautiful girl enjoy many happy and healthy times reading together. πŸ™‚ I just peeked at your “happy ending” post and it is beautiful. Many warm wishes to your family.

      Like

  1. CONGRATULATIONS MELISSA!
    I know so many children will quickly proclaim “Threesday” a favorite story to read and be read to, too! Couldn’t resist using all “three” here.
    Love, Mom

    Like

    1. Thank you, Mom! πŸ™‚ I know you loved the book from when you first saw it — and your support means the world to me. And kudos on your clever comment!

      Like

  2. Yay for Threesday! Actually, you’ll have to check out my post today– it’s about three! Regardless of the coincidence, I’m doing a big happy dance with you! Your new book looks absolutely adorable and I loved the video you made to entice us in! You are so very creative, Melissa! Wishing you much, MUCH success!

    Like

  3. Yay! I am super excited to get my copy! I just ordered it on Amazon today! πŸ™‚ And I’m pretty sure Threesday exists! At least in my house that is! πŸ™‚ Congrats again on publishing yet another amazing children’s story! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Threesday totally exists in your house — because you are an AWESOME mom who sees the happy in life!!! πŸ™‚ I appreciate your support more than you can know.

      Like

  4. Just wanted to let you know that your book arrived and both my daughter and I loved it! It’s such a sweet story. Personally, my favorite part was when you mentioned the groceries growing in the refrigerator! It’s such a clever and charming story. Good for you!

    Like

    1. Hear, hear, Renee! I’m all for that. It’s quite catchy — especially when spoken in the voice of a cute little girl! (AKA my daughter.) Thanks for the kind words! –Melissa

      Like

  5. You might be interested to know that Portuguese counts its non-weekend days. Beginning with Monday, the names of the days are segunda-feira, terça-feira, quarta-feira, quinta-feira, and sexta-feira.

    Like

  6. Melissa, I love the little video that you put together for your book, it completely reeled me in! As you know my kids are too old for your target market, but I’m so keen to read the book myself and I’ve remembered some other little people in my life who would love it, so I’ve just ordered a copy. That way I can read it first and then send it along as a gift in the post.

    Like

  7. Wow!! Congrats Melissa. This book looks interesting. I loved the video trailer. Now I am wondering how you created it. πŸ™‚ All my good wishes are with you and your book.

    Like

    1. Hi Arindam, thank you! My little girl just loves to talk about Threesday, and so the book kind of wrote itself. πŸ™‚ The trailer was fun to put together, as it made me think so much about our little family — thanks for the kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

